Posted on

Top 25 Youth Ministry Blogs of 2012

2012 Rank Name URL 2011 Rank
1 Josh Griffin http://www.morethandodgeball.com/ 1
2 Doug Fields http://dougfields.com 7
3 Mark Oestreicher http://whyismarko.com 2
4 Adam McLane http://adammclane.com 4
5 Jonathan McKee http://www.jonathanmckeewrites.com 10
6 Tim Schmoyer http://studentministry.org 3
7 Fuller Youth Institute http://fulleryouthinstitute.org/ 8
8 Adam Walker Cleaveland http://pomomusings.com/ 6
9 Kurt Johnston http://www.juniorhighministry.com/ 19
10 Youth Specialties http://youthspecialties.com/blog 5
11 Brian Kirk, Jacob Thorne rethinkingyouthministry.com 13
12 youthministry360 youthministry360.com NR
13 Jeremy Zach http://www.reyouthpastor.com 9
14 Greg Stier gregstier.org 16
14 The Youth Cartel http://theyouthcartel.wpengine.com/blog/ NR
16 Ian MacDonald http://www.youthblog.org 12
17 Walt Mueller http://learningmylines.blogspot.com/ 18
18 Youth Leader Stash youthleaderstash.com NR
19 Chuck Bomar http://www.collegeministrythoughts.com/ NR
20 Rachel Blom http://www.youthleadersacademy.com NR
21 Mike King http://king.typepad.com/mike_king/ 17
21 Jake Bouma http://www.jakebouma.com/ NR
23 Kenda Creasy Dean http://kendadean.com/ 20
24 Matt McGill http://lovegodlovestudents.com NR
25 Terrace Crawford http://terracecrawford.com/ 19

 

Welcome to the fourth annual ranking of the top blogs in youth ministry. (see the 2011 list)

How is the list created?
The list is based on a composite score of 66% publicly available statistics, such as Alexa and Google Page Rank, and 33% an influence rank voted based on a vote by the previous year’s top bloggers. The first step is to research the publicly available statistics for the 150+ blogs on the index. Next, I rank the statistical strength of each blog. Then, I ask those currently on the list to rate each of the Top 50 blogs for influence. Finally, the human ranking is added in with the statistical rankings to create the composite ranking published here.

What are the criteria for consideration?
It has to be a blog that’s about youth ministry and it has to be active. If you think you have a blog that I should consider for the 2013 list, please leave a comment. I’m currently indexing approximately 150 youth ministry related blogs so there’s a good chance I’ve already got you on the list.

How hard is it to get ranked?
As you can see in the rankings, while the majority of the blogs in the Top 25 are long-term time investments, there are seven who were not ranked in 2011. My hope in publishing this list is to encourage the genre of blogs focused specifically on ministering to adolescents around the world.

Questions?
Each year I get a wide variety of feedback about the blog rankings and I love it all. Feel free to leave a comment to this post or contact me via the website.

I’m on the list, now what? 

I asked Cartier if they’d donate diamond pendants to commemorate the 2012 list, I’m still waiting to hear back. In the meantime I’ve made this fancy graphic that would look great on your blog.

2012 Top 25 Blog in Youth Ministry